The ‘Martini’ Navy

Along side the US forces I’ve been painting up, I’ve also slapped some paint on some smaller units which I mentioned last time. As I don’t have permanent labels on my bases I’ll be able to mix-and-match these to represent Iranians, Libyans, Soviets, and any number of smaller navies. Similarly, the MiG-25s are just painted in a generic desert scheme which I can use with a bit of licence for any nation that had them.

Being only about 3/4″ long, the MiG-25s are a sod to get in focus!
A trio of Nanuchkas – one of these will feature in our upcoming Gulf of Sidra game
A flotilla of Osa IIs moves out to do their bit for Mother Russia/India/Libya/Algeria/Angola/Azerbaijan/Bulgaria/Cuba/Eritrea/Finland/Iraq/Somalia/Syria/Vietnam/Yemen – I love how versatile Soviet kit is when it comes to smaller nations’ navies!
A Vosper Type 5 ‘Alvand’ Class frigate of the Iranian Navy with a couple of French-built Combatante IIs. These will also find their way into the Libyan Navy as they too used Combatant IIs and they also had a Vosper Type 7, the Dat Assawari, which in 1/3000 looks close enough to the Type 5
The newly-minted generic “Martini Navy” (anytime, anyplace, anywhere, for those who remember the ads). I also have an Iranian Orion, some Iranian F-4s, Combatante IIs and other small Soviet-built corvettes and the like (such as Mirkas and Petyas) which I need to finish

2 thoughts on “The ‘Martini’ Navy

  1. Cheers Pete – I don’t know why, but placing the smallest units on penny-sized round bases seems to just work for me. I seem to have fallen in love with Navwar all over again – cheap, sturdy and I’ve been collecting them for over 40 years, so I’m sort of emotionally attached. The newer casts, in particular, are really quite nice and I love the Nanuchkas, even if they are only 19mm long!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started